The Tudor Tavern, George Street

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“I am now a modern Thai restaurant at the top of George Street, but I’ve been standing here since the 1400s and I’m very proud of my age and my black-and-white timbered good looks.
Over the years I’ve had lots of different names. I’ve been the Swan and the Kings Head, and more recently the pub well known locally as the Tudor Tavern.
There were lots of inns and guest houses near me once, our whole street is named after one called The George.
From 1906 I was Mr and Mrs Mayle’s antique shop. They were here for so long that they named the corner after them. I have certainly been a landmark for a long time and in many guises.
Whichever business owns the building, it has to be one that allows the public to see inside and admire my old beams. So you see how greatly valued I am still in St Albans.”

To find out more about this building, read the research from our Volunteers here >

See also, The George, George Street >

Leave a Reply

